Confirmed 41,494,819 +32,380 new today Deaths 1,136,463 +760 new today Recovered 30,917,487 Active: 9,440,869 Last updated: October 22, 2020 - 6:50 am (+00:00)
Home Health & Fitness US kept off European Union ‘safe list’ for resumption of non-essential travel

US kept off European Union ‘safe list’ for resumption of non-essential travel


The European Union has agreed to maintain the U.S. off an preliminary “safe list” of 14 international locations from which it is going to permit non-essential travel beginning in July, based on the European Council.

The preliminary listing consists of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay, the European Council mentioned on Tuesday.

As well as, China could possibly be included if it reciprocates by permitting vacationers from the European Union. The listing shall be reviewed each two weeks by the council.


The quantity of confirmed instances within the U.S. has surged over the previous week, and President Trump additionally suspended the entry of all individuals from Europe’s ID check-free travel zone in a decree in March. A number of states, together with Arizona, California, Florida and Texas, have paused or backtracked their reopening plans as confirmed coronavirus instances have as soon as once more soared.

The European Council suggestion, which isn’t a legally binding instrument, mentioned vacationers shall be permitted to enter the bloc from international locations the place the quantity of new COVID-19 instances over the past 14 days and per 100, 000 inhabitants are near or beneath the European Union common because it stood on June 15.


“This is not an exercise to be nice or unfriendly to other countries, this is an exercise of self-responsibility,” Spanish International Minister Arancha González Laya instructed Spain’s Cadena SER radio Monday whereas EU envoys in Brussels nonetheless labored to slim down the precise standards for international locations to be included.

“We appreciate the transparency and concerted efforts of our European partners and allies to combat this pandemic, and we are committed to coordinating with them as we look forward to reopening our economies and easing restrictions,” the U.S. mission to the EU mentioned in a press release earlier than the council determination was made formal, based on Bloomberg.

The council additionally thought of whether or not a rustic recorded steady or lowering pattern of new instances over this era compared to the earlier 14 days and the nation’s general response to COVID-19 considering out there data on testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, therapy and reporting, in addition to the reliability of the data and, if wanted, the overall common rating for Worldwide Well being Rules (IHR).

EU residents and their relations shall be exempt from the restrictions and, due to this fact, shall be permitted to return to the bloc. Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican needs to be thought of as EU residents for the aim of this suggestion. Schengen related international locations — Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and Switzerland — additionally will participate on this suggestion.

The UK, which has the third-highest coronavirus demise toll behind the U.S. and Brazil, was left off of the European Council listing. The UK left the 27-nation bloc in January and can section out of a post-Brexit transition interval by the top of this yr.

Greater than 15 million Individuals are estimated to travel to Europe yearly below regular circumstances, and any delay can be an additional blow to virus-ravaged economies and tourism sectors on each side of the Atlantic. Round 10 million Europeans are thought to cross the Atlantic for holidays and enterprise annually, based on the Related Press.


Listed here are the coronavirus demise toll and complete an infection depend of the international locations included within the EU listing, as of Tuesday.

Algeria has recorded not less than 13,571 confirmed instances, 905 deaths.

Australia has recorded not less than 7,765 confirmed instances, 104 deaths.

Canada has recorded not less than 103,918 confirmed instances, 8,556 deaths.

Georgia has recorded not less than 926 confirmed instances, 15 deaths.

Japan has recorded not less than 18,476 confirmed instances, 972 deaths.

Montenegro has recorded not less than 501 confirmed instances, 11 deaths.

Morocco has recorded not less than 12,385 confirmed instances, 225 deaths.

New Zealand has recorded not less than 1,178 confirmed instances, 22 deaths.

Rwanda has recorded not less than 1,001 confirmed instances, 2 deaths.

Serbia has recorded not less than 14,288 confirmed instances, 274 deaths.

South Korea has recorded not less than 12,800 confirmed instances, 282 deaths.

Thailand has recorded not less than 3,171 confirmed instances, 58 deaths.

Tunisia has recorded not less than 1,172 confirmed instances, 50 deaths.

Uruguay has recorded not less than 932 confirmed instances, 27 deaths.

China has recorded not less than 83,531 confirmed instances, 4,634 deaths.

Fox Information’ Greg Palkot and The Related Press contributed to this report.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here